Polymarket has launched 15-minute gold and silver markets powered by Chainlink pricing infrastructure, taking its short-term price markets beyond crypto. Each contract compares prices at the start and end of a set window. Questions remain about trading access, pricing outside regular market hours and which assets may be added next.
- Gold and silver markets are reported live.
- An unchanged price resolves “Up.”
- Chainlink reports more than $11 billion in volume across Polymarket’s short-term crypto markets.
- No dates or specific assets have been announced for the next expansion.
From crypto prices to precious metals
Chainlink announced the expansion on October 29, 2026. The company says it plans to add markets for other commodities, equities and foreign exchange, but it has not named the next assets or provided a launch schedule.
Chainlink also reports more than $11 billion in combined trading volume across Polymarket’s five- and 15-minute crypto price markets. That figure excludes the new metals markets, and Chainlink has not said what period it covers. It is a company-reported total, not proof of demand or liquidity in the gold and silver contracts.
The announcement names Chainlink Data Streams and the Chainlink Runtime Environment as parts of the pricing infrastructure. Data Streams supply the price feeds used by these markets. The announcement does not explain the Runtime Environment’s specific role in their data or settlement process.
Chainlink says market makers and algorithmic traders can access the same Data Streams through self-service access. This gives them access to the pricing feeds. It does not confirm that they are trading the contracts or providing liquidity.
How the 15-minute markets settle
Each documented up/down market specifies an asset pair, a start time and a duration. Polymarket’s rules say the market uses time-weighted average prices, or TWAPs, from a specified Chainlink stream. A TWAP averages prices over a period instead of relying on a single price tick.
The opening TWAP sets the “price to beat.” At the end of the market window, Polymarket compares it with the closing TWAP from the same stream. An ending value equal to or higher than the opening benchmark resolves “Up.” A lower value resolves “Down.”
A tie goes to “Up.” That rule matters before you trade: an unchanged price does not produce a neutral result. Polymarket’s documentation does not specify the averaging windows used for these particular markets.
Polymarket’s trading guide says outcome shares trade between $0 and $1. Winning shares can be redeemed for $1 after resolution, while losing shares are worth zero. The guide also says positions can be sold before resolution.
Chainlink pricing is separate from UMA resolution
Polymarket uses different resolution methods for different markets. Its documented up/down price markets use Chainlink TWAP comparisons. Other markets may use UMA, where someone proposes an outcome and participants can challenge it.
Polymarket says UMA proposals normally have a two-hour challenge period. A dispute can lead to another proposal and, if that proposal is contested, a vote through UMA’s Data Verification Mechanism. This process differs from comparing two specified price values. A market’s end time is not necessarily its final resolution or payout time.
What “around the clock” means, and what it doesn’t
Polymarket chief legal officer Neal Kumar said Chainlink’s 24/7 infrastructure would support trading across a growing range of equity, commodity and foreign-exchange markets around the clock. That describes the service’s ambition. Data availability, contract trading hours and the operating hours of an underlying reference market are separate things.
Gold and currencies trade across multiple venues and use different reference prices, while equities have conventional exchange hours. The announcement does not identify the specific price feed for each metals contract or explain how these markets handle closed sessions, stale prices, outages or fallback pricing. Those details will matter if the offering expands to assets whose main markets do not operate continuously.
Chainlink’s release describes Polymarket US as a CFTC-regulated designated contract market under the Commodity Exchange Act. It does not say whether these metals contracts are listed on that venue or which jurisdictions can trade them. Polymarket US’s stated regulatory status does not confirm the treatment or availability of every Polymarket market.
Key questions and answers
-
Which non-crypto markets are live?
Polymarket has launched 15-minute gold and silver markets using Chainlink pricing data.
-
How does a market resolve?
The ending TWAP is compared with the opening TWAP. Equal or higher resolves “Up”; lower resolves “Down.”
-
What assets are planned next?
Chainlink has named additional commodities, equities and foreign exchange, but has not announced specific assets or launch dates.
-
Does the $11 billion figure include gold and silver?
No. Chainlink attributes that volume to Polymarket’s five- and 15-minute crypto price markets. It has not stated the reporting period.
-
Are the metals markets available in the United States?
The announcement does not say whether they are listed on Polymarket US or specify eligible jurisdictions.
The launch extends Polymarket’s short-duration markets to precious metals, with clear rules for comparing prices. Its practical significance will depend on liquidity, how prices behave outside regular market hours and where the contracts are available. See also Chainlink integrations for continuous Bitcoin, gold and Ethereum prediction markets.
Chainlink’s reported activity comes amid wider crypto-market attention around major tokens, including Chainlink among top crypto gainers, while price outlooks remain uncertain. Polymarket pricing points to limited 2026 upside.