The UK has reportedly sanctioned crypto-related businesses suspected of facilitating transactions linked to A7, a financial network the Foreign Office describes as Kremlin-backed. The package also targets Russian oil interests, shipping and military supply chains. But the public details summarized here do not identify the two platforms UK authorities suspect of handling A7-related transactions.
- The reported UK package includes 38 designations across finance, oil and military supply chains.
- Four named entities are linked to crypto services, but the reported category counts do not clearly match the names.
- Separate U.S. and EU measures target A7-linked activity and crypto services.
- Several announcement dates lack a year, making the measures’ chronology unclear.
What the UK measures reportedly cover
Announced on Oct. 8, the UK package reportedly includes 38 designations targeting financial services, oil revenue and suppliers accused of supporting Russia’s war in Ukraine. The year is not specified in the details available here, so the date does not establish a reliable timeline alongside the separate U.S. and EU actions.
The financial measures are described as covering three cryptocurrency exchanges, two payment platforms and one individual. The named business entities are Xeltox Enterprises, TokenSpot, Processing KG and Tsunami Payments. Cryptomus and Heleket are described as services linked to Xeltox. Ulan Bukabaev is identified as Processing KG’s director and as an individual target.
The list does not clearly show how the named entities and services fit the stated counts of exchanges and payment platforms. It also does not identify the two platforms UK authorities suspect of processing or facilitating transactions involving A7. That allegation should not be applied to every named business.
The Foreign Office described A7 as a Kremlin-backed financial network. It also said A7 claimed to have moved more than $90 billion during 2025. That is A7’s own claim, not an independently verified measure of funds moved.
What sanctions can mean for crypto businesses
Sanctions come in different forms, and their effects depend on the rules imposed by each jurisdiction. Under UK financial sanctions, an asset freeze bars dealings with a designated person’s covered funds or economic resources, subject to applicable exemptions or licences. The Office of Financial Sanctions Implementation’s guidance explicitly includes cryptoassets.
UK sanctions can apply to people and businesses operating in the UK, as well as to UK nationals and companies established under British law, wherever they operate. The rules may also cover companies owned or controlled by a designated person. The specific ownership or control test matters. A business connection alone does not automatically subject every related company to the same restrictions.
According to the reported details, the UK had previously targeted Russia-linked crypto and financial businesses registered in the United Arab Emirates, Georgia and Kyrgyzstan. Those measures included asset freezes and restrictions on British businesses processing payments or maintaining correspondent banking relationships involving designated entities. The action is dated May 26, but its year is also unspecified.
U.S. and EU measures target related activity
The U.S. Treasury announced action against A7 on Oct. 1 under Operation Economic Outcast. The year is not specified in the details summarized here. Treasury said the Office of Foreign Assets Control designated A7, blocking property within U.S. jurisdiction or held by U.S. persons. It also said entities owned 50% or more by blocked persons are blocked, and transactions involving covered property are generally prohibited unless authorized or exempt.
FinCEN separately proposed restrictions on certain transfers involving companies acting as A7’s overseas payment agents. The proposal covered conventional funds and convertible virtual currency, a type of digital currency that can be exchanged for real-world value. It was only a proposal, not a completed rule. Treasury said the public-comment period would close 30 days after the notice appeared in the Federal Register.
A separate report attributed to FinCEN a finding that network-linked agents processed more than $17 billion in dollar-denominated transactions between January 2025 and June 2026. That figure measures something different from A7’s claim of more than $90 billion in activity during 2025. The figures are not directly comparable, and the dates provided for the announcement and transaction period do not establish their chronology.
Treasury also identified A7A5, a ruble-backed token issued by Old Vector LLC, as blocked. U.S. authorities sanctioned Old Vector in August 2025. Treasury said A7 created the token to let network members transact internationally and generate revenue for sanctioned infrastructure providers. Those are government claims. The details summarized here do not establish how much activity the token enabled.
The Council of the European Union approved its 21st sanctions package on July 23. The year is unspecified in the details available here. The Council said it added 218 listings: 48 individuals and 170 entities. The package extended transaction bans to 14 crypto-related platforms operating in Georgia, Panama, the UAE, the Marshall Islands, Kyrgyzstan and Belarus.
Reuters identified 18 crypto companies on the published list, while the Council counted 14 platforms. The figures differ, but the information available here does not explain precisely how the lists or counting methods relate. Services named in coverage of the EU measures included HTX, BitPapa, EXMO, Rapira, A7 Africa and A7 Nigeria. The restriction on HTX was described as a transaction restriction, not an asset freeze.
Crypto is one part of a broader sanctions push
The reported UK package reaches beyond digital finance. It names Russian oil companies Zarubezhneft and INK Capital and adds 12 tankers accused of operating within Russia’s “shadow fleet, ” a term for vessels the Foreign Office says use deceptive practices, including false flags, to move oil.
The Foreign Office said the UK’s count of sanctioned vessels had risen above 600 and that British sanctions covered more than 90% of Russia’s total oil production capacity. These are government figures, and the details available here do not explain how they were calculated.
The package also reportedly lists 17 entities and individuals connected to goods the UK, U.S. and EU classify as important to Russia’s war effort. The targets include Russian importers of machine tools, electronics and materials used in ballistic missile and drone production. They also include a European national associated with a third-country business exporting machine tools to Russia.
Sanctions enforcement can reach the financial services and trade networks that move money and goods, including crypto businesses. But a government allegation alone does not show the evidence behind it. The two platforms allegedly linked to A7 transactions remain unidentified in the details summarized here. That is a material gap, not a reason to guess.
Key questions and answers
-
Which crypto-related entities did the UK reportedly name?
The named entities are Xeltox Enterprises, TokenSpot, Processing KG and Tsunami Payments. Cryptomus and Heleket are described as services linked to Xeltox. Ulan Bukabaev, Processing KG’s director, is also named.
-
Which platforms allegedly handled A7-related transactions?
The UK reportedly suspects two platforms, but the details available here do not identify them. The allegation cannot responsibly be applied to all the named entities.
-
Is FinCEN’s proposed transfer restriction in force?
No. It was described as a proposal open to public comment. The information available here does not establish its later status.
-
Are an asset freeze and a transaction restriction the same?
No. Their effects depend on the specific sanctions instrument. The EU measure on HTX was described as a transaction restriction rather than an asset freeze. UK and U.S. measures have their own legal scope and conditions.
-
Why do EU accounts give different crypto counts?
The Council counted 14 platforms, while Reuters identified 18 crypto companies. The details available here do not fully explain the difference.
-
What remains unclear about the reported measures?
The two platforms allegedly linked to A7 are unnamed, the UK’s stated financial categories do not clearly match the named entities, and the UK, U.S. and EU announcement dates are given without years.